FIG General Assembly

Engagement Committee

FIG General Assembly 2021 adopted the proposal from FIG Council based on a suggestion from the Task Force on FIG Governance to install an Engagement Committee on a trial basis until 2025.

The committee will assist in promoting the search for the next President and two Vice Presidents (to be elected in 2022) and to help search for new Commission Chairs for the following term (2027-2030) that should be elected in 2024 or 2025.

The aim of the engagement committee is to:

  • ensure an ongoing influx of volunteers for the official posts in FIG
  • address the search for potential senior candidates in a proactive way
  • promote diversity and inclusion in all aspects e.g., region, gender equality, age

More specific, the tasks of the committee members are to:

  • foster and encourage individuals’ engagement to stand for senior officer levels in FIG, above all to be an open process to encourage people to come forward.
  • work closely with Council; yet maintain independence
  • ensure that people are not discouraged or hesitating to contact and, or to have any fear about coming forward.

It is important to note that the engagement committee does not make any valuation or selection of interested candidates, the aim of the committee is purely to create interest and to motivate members and individuals to step forward and to provide information about the posts.

If you have an interest in running for a position you are welcome to contact one or more of the members of the committee to get further information. You are also always welcome to contact Louise Friis-Hansen at the FIG Office.

Members of the Engagement Committee 2023-2024

Chryssy Potsiou, Greece
Honorary President
Rudolf Staiger, Germany
Honorary President
Rob Sarib, Australia
Network Chair and former commission vice chair of admin
Angela Etuonovbe, Nigeria
Former Commission Chair
Kate Fairlie, Australia
Former chair of FIG Young Surveyors Network
Ronald Ssengendo, Uganda
Former member of FIG YSN and curerntly East Africa rep. to Africa Regional Network Steering Committee
John Hohol, USA
President Emeritus of FIG Foundation and Honorary Member

The members have been appointed by FIG Council for the trial period 2021-2025.

Volker Schwieger, Germany was member of the Engagement Committee 2021-2023. New members from 2023-2025 are Rudolf Staiger, Kate Fairlie and Ronald Ssengendo

More information